May 1, 2021


    On May 1, 2021, voters will elect three members of the Waco Independent School District Board of Trustees. This includes positions representing District 1, Place 1; District 2, Place 2; and At-Large, Place 6. Trustees will be elected to serve three-year terms ending in May 2024. Maps of the trustee districts can be found here.

    The following candidates have filed to run for those positions:

    District 1, Place 1

    • Jeremy Davis


    District 2, Place 2

    • Jessica King Gereghty
    • Stephanie Ybarra-Korteweg


    At-Large, Place 6

    • Jennifer Hargrove
    • Keith Guillory
    • Rebecca Wright
    • Robin Houston


Information for Voters


    Voter Registration

    April 1, 2021 was the last day to register to vote or make a change of address effective for the May 1, 2021 election. You can check to see if you are registered to vote at

    To register to vote in McLennan County, you must:

    • Be 17 years, 10 months of age or older and turn 18 by Election Day;
    • Be a United States citizen;
    • Have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote;
    • Have not been finally convicted of a felony, or if you are a felon, you must have completed all of your punishment, including any term of incarceration, parole, supervision, period of probation, or you must have received a pardon; and
    • Be a resident of McLennan County.


    Voting by Mail

    Any registered voter in Texas may vote by mail if they meet one of the following criteria:

    • They are 65 years or older;
    • They are sick or disabled;
    • They are out of the county on election day and during the period for early voting by personal appearance; or
    • They are confined in jail but otherwise eligible.


    April 20, 2021 was the last day to apply for a ballot by mail for the May 1, 2021 election.


    Early Voting

    Early voting took place from April 19, 2021 through April 27, 2021.


    Election Day

    Election Day is Saturday, May 1, 2021.

    On Election Day, registered voters in McLennan County can vote at any of the county's 15 vote centers. Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.

    A list of Election Day Vote Centers can be found on the McLennan County Elections website.


    Voter ID Requirements

    Texas requires voters to present one of the following "acceptable forms of photo ID":

    • Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS);
    • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS;
    • Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS;
    • Texas Handgun License issued by DPS;
    • United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph;
    • United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph; or
    • United States Passport (book or card).


    With the exception of the U.S. Citizenship Certificate, which does not expire, for voters ages 18-69, the photo identification may not have expired more than four years before being presented. For voters age 70 and older, the photo identification may be expired for any length of time if it is otherwise valid.

    For information on how to apply for a free Election Identification Certificate, please visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website.

    If a voter does not have one of the forms of identification listed above and cannot reasonably obtain one, the voter can complete a Reasonable Impediment Declaration and provide one of the following supporting forms of ID:

    • copy or original of a government document that shows the voter’s name and an address, including the voter’s voter registration certificate;
    • copy of or original current utility bill;
    • copy of or original bank statement;
    • copy of or original government check;
    • copy of or original paycheck; or
    • copy of or original of (a) a certified domestic (from a U.S. state or territory) birth certificate or (b) a document confirming birth admissible in a court of law which establishes the voter’s identity (which may include a foreign birth document).


Information for Candidates


    Becoming a Candidate for School Board

    The deadline to submit an application for a place on the ballot as a candidate was 5 p.m. on February 12, 2021.


    Drawing for Ballot Order

    On February 22, 2021, a drawing was held to determine the order in which candidates would be listed on the ballot. That order is as follows:

    • District 1, Place 1
      • Jeremy Davis
    • District 2, Place 2
      • Jessica King Gereghty
      • Stephanie Ybarra-Korteweg
    • At-Large, Place 6
      • Jennifer Hargrove
      • Keith Guillory
      • Rebecca Wright
      • Robin Houston


    Campaign Finance Reports

    The schedule for reports due in connection with the May 1, 2021 election can be found on the Texas Ethics Commission website. Reports can be filed by hand delivery, mail, email or fax to Waco ISD Administration Building, 501 Franklin Ave, Waco, TX 76701;; or 254-755-9690.


    Election Results

    As ballots are counted after the polls close, results will be posted on the McLennan County Elections Department website.


    Canvassing Election Returns

    The Waco ISD Board of Trustees will hold a special meeting at noon on Tuesday, May 11, 2021 in the boardroom at the Waco ISD Administration Building (501 Franklin Ave, Waco, TX. 76701) to canvass the results of the May 1, 2021 trustee election. Trustee elected to serve three-year terms on the board will be sworn in on May 13, 2021.